Well, Here We Are. Again.

Hey, this is still a thing. I’m not reviewing the new Future of the Left single today–

No. Wait. I can totally review “Sheena is a T-Shirt Salesman” today. It’s fucking awesome. But really, I just put that picture up because I am looking forward to the new Future of the Left album, The Plot Against Common Sense, the way good Christian kids look forward to Christmas.

I gotta say, it’s good to be back here writing stuff for Bollocks!. I’ve tried to keep this blog going through my first year of grad school, but the desire to pass my classes and a general laziness have kept me from being very productive. Spring term is, so far, a little more manageable than the first two terms were, so I think I can get Bollocks! back to its former glory for the summer. We’ll see.

What’s been going on since my last actual post, way back in December? Well, a lot of folks have posted comments on things, which means people are still reading my little blarg. That is, as always, pretty humbling. Some of those comments have been a little on the shitty side, but this is the internet and I don’t have any illusions about the nature of interweb comments. I’ll let this suffice: by my recollection, I have been called a faggot only two times since I started this blog in 2008. One time, it was by a Kid Rock fan and the other time was by a George Thorogood fan who didn’t like what I had to say about “Bad to the Bone”. I approved these comments because I am in favor of free speech, even if it is grammatically terrible hate speech that was probably written by dudes who have had more than one go-round of their freshman and/or sophomore year of high school. I don’t believe that banning the language these idiots use is going to stop them from being bigoted idiots and the smug, not-quite-a-good-social-worker part of me likes highlighting the intellectual vacuousness of people who like George Thorogood enough to defend him on a blog that not-quite nobody reads. Being hated by folks who love Thorogood and Kid Rock pleases me almost as much as being hated by Ted Nugent would please me. Because fuck Ted Nugent.

But enough of the negative stuff. I realize that we’re rapidly approaching the middle of 2012 and I never really got around to telling you explicitly what my favorite albums were in 2011. I’m not sure I can even remember, apart from Sound Kapital by the Handsome Furs. What a great mix of pop and politics. “Serve the People” is the song from 2011 that I wish, more than any other, I had written. I listen to it maybe once a day, and Sound Kapital enjoys a spot in my listening rotation typically reserved for albums like London Calling or the new Screaming Females record.

Speaking of the new Screaming Females record: I know this post is not a proper review of music in any way, but those are coming soon. For the time being, here are two albums I probably won’t shut the fuck up about all year: Ugly by the aforementioned Screaming Females and Break It Yourself by Andrew Bird. Those two albums are pretty radically different, but they are both amazing in their own right. I’m also working on a long-gestating entry in The Worst Songs I Have Ever Heard and I’m thinking of reviving the Summer of Badass Women because I didn’t get to talk about nearly enough badass women last year. For instance, do you know who Hazel Dickens was? If not, you will soon. Because she was badass.

4 thoughts on “Well, Here We Are. Again.

  1. Great to have you back! I’m looking forward to much more of your inimitable brand of music “edutainment”.

  2. Welcome back. I’ve enjoyed reading your blog since someone pointed me to it a few years ago. Was just thinking a few weeks ago that I missed your regular rants and music recommends.

  3. Glad to see you’re back. Your rants are the best.

  4. I am so glad you are back! I’m looking forward to more charged reviews and opinions. They’re always entertaining and, more often than not, hilarious. Welcome, welcome!

Leave a Reply

