News and Notes

I know what you’re thinking: “Did I pop into an ESPN blog by mistake? Where’s Bollocks!?” Don’t worry, you’re in the right place. I chose the image above because I’m mostly punting today as far as a decent post is concerned because I’m in the middle of a couple of computer upgrades and I’m still waiting for some albums to review to begin this year.

So yeah, today’s post kinda sucks. You don’t really have to finish reading it if you don’t want to, but if you do decide to keep reading, you’ll learn about some cool stuff that I’m gonna try to do around here this year.

First off, I wanna share a stat with you. Bollocks!, according to the good people at WordPress (who should know), was viewed 19,000 times in 2010. If you divide that by the total days in 2010, you get about 52 views a day, which is about fifty more than I had per day when I started doing Bollocks! in February of 2008. I think that’s totally badass and I want to thank every single person who took the time to stop by this blog in the last year to read what I think about bands some of you have never heard of, even if you ended up telling me to go fuck myself. I don’t post a lot of snazzy videos or juicy gossip and yet a bunch of people still come here to read lengthy posts – full of words! – about music. I think that’s really fucking cool and also really kinda humbling.

I’m mostly a playwright and when I started Bollocks!, I did it as a way to get my writing brain going before I dove into whatever script I was working on at the time. I still do that, but having people stop by Bollocks! has given me the sense that this can be a creative endeavor every bit as rewarding as playwriting. And it’s filled me with the desire to make sure the loyal readers are getting something worth reading.

So I’m going to try to update the blog Monday through Friday, which is gonna be tough here at the beginning of the year because a lot of music I want to review is not out yet. But that’s why I have features like Great Fucking Albums and the brand spanking new Worst Songs I Have Ever Heard. Those are two features that can run for as long as I can think of music to talk about and I like having the positivity of Great Fucking Albums to balance out the admittedly sad0-masochistic pleasure I get from talking about the worst songs I’ve ever heard. I’m also gonna talk about some albums that I recently acquired from last year (and one from 2009, actually – that being Idle Warship’s Party Robot mixtape), including The Big To-Do by Drive-by Truckers.

Also, there is the slight possibility of a Bollocks! podcast creeping into the light this year. It’d probably be a weekly thing, done on the weekends, mostly to augment the stuff I’ve talked about all weeks. So this is your chance to provide some feedback and tell me if that’s something you might actually listen to. I think it would have to be hosted at another site and linked here, although I’m just speculating on that part. I have no idea how to do a podcast, but I don’t think anyone else who does one knows either. It might be fun and I might post a “test-cast” at some point to see how people react to it. It’s apparently deadly cheap to get a podcast site like Libsyn and they do a damn good job with Walking the Room. The podcast would be absolutely free (Bollocks! will always be free for readers/listeners because honestly, no one should ever have to pay for this shit) and might eventually include interviews at some point, if I can find people who are foolish enough to talk to me.

So tomorrow, we’ll get back into really talking about music instead of talking about talking about music. In the meantime, I’m going to listen to a shitload of music and I recommend that you do the same.

Leave a Reply

