Rocktober Is Here and Bollocks! Is Making Changes (Mostly for the Better)

It’s only stupid to keep having the same parties you had in college if no one will still do it with you. I bring this up as a way of telling you that it’s Rocktober again and this year, like every year for the last eight (!), my old college friends (and some new friends) will gather to salute three things we like: beer, rock ‘n’ roll, and our group of ruffians. Some of us are married now, some of us even have children, but for some reason it still seems like a good idea to gather in the crisp Rocktober air, grill some stuff, and listen to our favorite rock tunes. We call our party Rocktoberfest, which may strike you as totally unoriginal, but fuck you – that’s not really the point. If we called it “Fartfest”, it would still be about the same stuff. It would just have a smellier name.

Anyway, Rocktober is a great time of year for me to reflect on what I love about music in general, which tends to lead me to why the fuck I bother to write about the music I love. So I’m trying to improve Bollocks! and make it easier for me to crank out some meaningful content on a more frequent basis. For one thing, I started a page on this blog to try and count down the 29 best albums released in my lifetime. It was a stupid task and I wasn’t really up to it. I got London Calling to number one right quickly, but nothing else really fell into place. So I’ve converted the page into something simpler and, I think, more elegant. Though the web address is the same, my 29 Best Albums page is now just a page where you can find links to posts I will continue to write about some great fucking albums. In the interest of simplicity, I’m calling the page my Great Fucking Albums page and I’ll get on some posts about those in the very near future. I’ll probably start with Hüsker Dü’s Zen Arcade because holy shit is that a great record. If you have other suggestions for ways to make Bollocks! more awesome, I’ll entertain them.

Last Rocktober, I counted down the 100 Songs of Rocktober, which still rank among my most highly rated posts (along with Jesus Christ’s guest review of Creed’s comeback album). This year, I still want to celebrate rock ‘n’ roll, but I’m going to do it in a more free-from way because I really want to move away from the entire concept of the countdown. I might start a page of badass rock lyrics and do a couple other special things to honor some of my rock heroes (although some of that shit might seem obvious to longtime readers).

In the two years since I started Bollocks!, I’ve gone from six readers a day on average to somewhere consistently over 30, which I know doesn’t put me up there with Perez Hilton or TMZ or any of those assholes, but it’s still more than I ever imagined would bother to read my rants about albums some of y’all have definitely never heard of. So part of what I’m trying to do here is reach out to the people who take the time to read this shit and say, “Hey, I’m still trying to get better at this. We strive to entertain here.”

In closing, it’s Rocktober. Put some tunes on, pour a beer, and crank up some music. If you’re at work right now, this might get you fired. But it will still make you awesome. Also, I recently discovered a podcast called Walking the Room that is totally badass. It’s listed in my links section and I’m linking it here as well because those guys deserve as many listeners as they can get. More things on the internet need to be like Walking the Room. In other words, more things on the internet, need be totally fucking awesome. Over the next few days, I’ll be doing my part to push Bollocks! in that direction. Thanks for reading and stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

