R.I.P. Ronnie James Dio

Well, the official word is that Ronnie James Dio, possibly the least photogenic man in all of hair metal, passed away yesterday at about 7:45 a.m. after a long battle with stomach cancer. He was 67.

I haven’t been a fan of Dio’s music since I was young, stupid, and really into hair metal (I had Def Leppard’s Hysteria on vinyl. I’m not proud), but nobody – not even that asshole from Wavves – deserves stomach cancer. I doubt many of Dio’s fans read Bollocks!, but I figured I’d pay a small tribute…

…by linking to the most hilariously over the top video I’ve ever seen – Dio’s “Holy Diver.” Farewell, RJD. May you ride tigers in Heaven. And don’t forget to toss up the devil horns while you’re there.

2 thoughts on “R.I.P. Ronnie James Dio

  1. As an on-and-off Dio fan, my favorite from his solo career is Master of the Moon:

    In bands, my favorite is the ridiculous Man on the Silver Mountain, as lead vocalist for Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow:

    and probably my favorite is the guest vocal he did on Queensryche’s The Chase:

  2. War. Lost in the midnight sea forever.

Leave a Reply

