A Bollocks! Contest: Win a Free Hold Steady Ticket

up-The_Hold_Steady

This here is incredibly short notice, but if you’re a Los Angeles area Bollocks! reader and you want a ticket for tonight’s sold out Hold Steady show at El Rey, I have an extra one.

And I won’t fucking sell it to you.

You can have it. For free. Just by winning a hastily thrown-together contest. All you have to do is post a comment to this post explaining why you deserve to see the Hold Steady more than anyone else.This is not a joke. The guy who was gonna go to the show bailed on me (moved to NYC, actually) and I have an extra ticket.

If no one replies, I’ll probably just sell the ticket at the door, but I thought it’d be fun to see if I could give it away to someone who stops by the site. I’ll be leaving my house at 7pm to head to the show, so a winner will have to be declared by, say, 6:30.

Incidentally, there will be a much better contest later for a free ticket to see The National in August.

Best part: you don’t even have to hang out with me at the show. You can claim your prize and bugger off if you want. Or you can spend the whole night trying to convince me that Chinese Democracy is the greatest album ever recorded. But I think we all know how that will go.

The contest is open to anyone, but the L.A. people have a leg up because they live here. But if you can make it to El Rey on Wilshire Blvd. by 8pm tonight, it doesn’t matter where you’re coming from.

Also, if you’re already going to the show and wanna put (not punch) a face to the Bollocks! name, feel free to see me at the show. You can make little signs that say Bollocks! on them or whatever (or “Your a Tool” – that would crack me up) or just try to figure out which guy is me.

So, to recap the rules:

1) you post a comment below telling me why you deserve to see the Hold Steady for free

2) I post the winner on this site no later than 6:30

3) winner meets me (seriously dubious honor) at El Rey and we get the ticket at Will-Call.

Have at it!

One thought on “A Bollocks! Contest: Win a Free Hold Steady Ticket

  1. God damn. Missed out. I woulda been buzzing in your ear about how Chinese Democracy 2 was gonna set the world on fire

Leave a Reply

